AccountShark
Back to Blog
Fortnite

Fortnite Item Shop Token Guide: How Pirate Shop Access Works, How to Find It, What's Free, Exceptions and the 2027 Bonus Token

How Fortnite's Item Shop Token (Pirate Shop Access) works: how to find it in chests, how to redeem it, what is free and excluded, the Dec 15 deadline, the 2027 bonus token, and which odds and rules are still unconfirmed.

Rhea KoslovNov 4, 202623 min read
Fortnite Item Shop Token Guide: How Pirate Shop Access Works, How to Find It, What's Free, Exceptions and the 2027 Bonus Token
QUICK ANSWER · FORTNITE ITEM SHOP TOKEN (PIRATE SHOP ACCESS)
• What it is: A rare Treasure Hunters chest prize. The in-game name is Pirate Shop Access, and GameSpot calls it the Item Shop Token. Once activated, it lets you claim almost everything sold for V-Bucks in the Item Shop for free for 14 days
• How you get it: Open or break chests in Battle Royale. Team size, Build or Zero Build, and ranked or unranked do not matter, per GameSpot. Epic has not published the odds
• Teammates: If one player in your round finds it, everyone on the team in that round gets it too, per GameSpot, Polygon and GamesRadar
• Two tokens: One drop gives you Pirate Shop Access (2026) and Pirate Shop Access (2027). The 2026 token must be activated by December 15, 2026. The 2027 token is for a 14 day window of your choosing in 2027
• How to redeem: Open the Item Shop in the lobby, pick Plunder the Item Shop, then Activate Now. The 14 days start when you press it, not when the chest pays out
• Not covered: Real-money offers (V-Bucks packs, some bundles, Crew), Battle Pass levels and rewards, gifting, and any Sidekick you already own (one new Sidekick only)
• Kept forever: Items you claim stay in your locker after the 14 days end
• Still unconfirmed: Exact drop rate, the exact hour of the December 15 cutoff, LEGO and Rocket Racing coverage, and whether Treasure Hours raise the token odds

Two days into Treasure Hunters, the thing everyone in my party chat keeps asking about is not the One Piece skins or the new island. It is a single chest reward that turns almost the entire Item Shop free for two weeks. Epic calls it Pirate Shop Access. GameSpot's Mark Delaney calls it the Fortnite Item Shop Token in his November 3 piece on Fortnite's plan for the GTA 6 era. Same thing, two names, and a lot of confusion about what it actually does.

This guide is the token and nothing else. If you want the season itself, I already covered the island, the One Piece powers and the Captain's Day schedule in Fortnite Treasure Hunters Is Live and the broader season rundown in the Chapter 7 Season 5 guide. Here I am sticking to the questions people keep typing into search: how to get the token, how to tell if you have it, how to redeem it, what is free and what is not, how long you have, and how real the odds talk is.

One honest note on sourcing before we start. Epic's Treasure Hunters season post on fortnite.com covers the shop schedule, the Captain Days and the December 5 end event, but the text I could retrieve does not describe the token rules. I did not find a dedicated Epic Help article for Pirate Shop Access as of November 4, 2026. The rules below come from Epic's in-game unlock screen as relayed by press and trackers, from the Fortnite Status account's November 3 reply on X as relayed by outlets, and from reporting by GameSpot, Dexerto, Polygon, GamesRadar and others. Where those sources disagree or where nobody can confirm something, I flag it right in the text and again in a checklist near the end.

What Pirate Shop Access Actually Is

Pirate Shop Access is a rare reward that can roll when you open a chest in Battle Royale during the Treasure Hunters mini season, which began on November 1. GameSpot describes it as a rare in-game item that makes everything in the Item Shop free for 14 days, with a few exceptions. Dexerto adds that the prize was found in the weekly prize pool by dataminer HYPEX, and that Epic itself has not shared the odds.

A few points that clear up the most common misunderstandings:

  • It is not V-Bucks. Nothing gets added to your wallet. You claim Item Shop offers that normally cost V-Bucks and they show as free while your window is active.
  • It is not automatic. Activating the token does not dump the whole shop into your locker. You have to visit the shop during your 14 days and claim what you want.
  • It is not a rental. According to Polygon, Dexerto and Dot Esports, anything you claim is added to your locker permanently, even after the token expires.
  • It is account bound. The reward cannot be transferred to another account, per the unlock text as reported by FortniteTools and Dexerto.
The one thing that makes this different from a normal giveaway is the timing. The 14 days start when you press Activate Now, which means you control when the clock starts. More on that below, because it is the single decision that decides how much value you get.

How to Find the Token

Which chests count

The short version is that it comes from ordinary Battle Royale chests. GamesRadar says you do not need to track down rare ones, and that a winning chest glows and shakes for several seconds before a "YOU FOUND PIRATE SHOP ACCESS" message appears across the screen. Polygon's guide says regular chests have been turned into treasure chests this mini season, so you do not need to hunt for anything special.

FRVR's reporting goes further and cites HYPEX saying that breaking a chest counts as well as opening it, and that the token can drop from almost every chest type on Crossbones Isle, including regular and rare chests, Sprite chests, buried chests, Wanted Poster chests and relic chests. That detail is HYPEX's claim as relayed by FRVR, not something Epic has published, so treat it as a strong lead rather than a rule.

What you will most often get from these chests is not the token. Polygon notes that in most cases the special loot is a gizmo such as the Sprite Locator or the Portable Extractor. Cosmetics are also possible. The token is the rare end of that same prize pool.

Which modes count

GameSpot is the clearest on this: you can find the token in chests during any round of Battle Royale, and team size, Build or Zero Build, and ranked or unranked do not matter. Dexerto reports that the first confirmed winner got theirs in a normal Solos lobby.

What nobody has confirmed is the rest of the playlist menu. Reload, OG, Festival, LEGO Fortnite, Rocket Racing and Creative are not named as eligible by any of the sources I used. FortniteTools says the same thing about those modes in its guide. Until Epic says otherwise, treat Battle Royale and Zero Build as the only confirmed place to find it.

The first winner and what it tells us

The first widely reported winner was an X user called snowslept, who said they hit it in their third match of the day in Solos after opening around 150 chests. Dexerto quotes them saying the winning chest looked like any other chest on replay. That is useful because it kills the idea that you can spot a special chest. It is also a single data point and says nothing about how many chests the average player needs.

Polygon's guide suggests landing at named locations such as Arlong Park, Lantern Landing, Rubber Resort, Fortune's Fort, Loguetown, Plunder Port or Busy Bay and says a fast player can open upwards of 50 chests a game. That is a sensible way to get more rolls per match. It is not proof that any location has better odds, and The Click's reporting says no spot on Crossbones Isle has been shown to be better than another.

The Odds: What Is Confirmed and What Is Not

Let me be blunt, because this is where most guides are happy to make things up. Epic has not published the drop rate for Pirate Shop Access. Dexerto, FRVR, Dot Esports and The Click all say the same. HYPEX, per FRVR, says the real odds are not in the game files at all.

Here is what is floating around and how much weight each claim deserves:

ClaimWhere it came fromStatus
No official drop rateDexerto, FRVR, The Click, Dot EsportsConfirmed: Epic has not published odds
Equal chance for every playerFortnite Status reply on X, November 3, 2026, as reported by Beebom and FRVREpic statement, but it is about fairness, not a number
1 in 700,000 chestsWidely repeated community estimate, quoted by DexertoUnconfirmed. HYPEX says it is not in the game files (via FRVR)
About 1 in 2,000 chestsOne creator (Blortzen on X), as reported by FRVRA personal estimate with stated uncertainty, not data
About 150 chests for the first winnersnowslept, as quoted by DexertoOne anecdote, not a threshold
Under 100 chests for some day one winners, hundreds with nothing for othersBeebomAnecdotal

The 1 in 700,000 figure is the one that spread fastest, and Dexerto is explicit that it is a community estimate Epic has not confirmed. FRVR's article is titled around the fact that the number does not hold up, and quotes HYPEX saying any number online is a guess. The 1 in 2,000 estimate in that article comes from one creator's own math, with a tier breakdown he admits could be wrong. I am not going to repeat his tier percentages as facts, because they are not facts.

What Epic did say is a short reply from the Fortnite Status account on November 3, relayed by Beebom and FRVR: "Buying an account or using fake tools is a scam. This is just like any of the chests in Battle Royale, so every player has an equal opportunity to find Pirate Shop Access." Some players pushed back in the replies, and Beebom notes some winners got it in under 100 chests while others opened hundreds with nothing. Equal opportunity per chest is consistent with both stories. It just is not a number.

Do Treasure Hours raise the odds?

Epic's season post says Treasure Hours Sundays and Mastery Mondays run through the season and add Captain's weapons to the start of every match, boosted drops and more. Polygon wrote that Treasure Hours are rumored to increase the spawn rate of the token, and The Click points out that Epic has not said whether the boost applies to Pirate Shop Access itself. So that is unconfirmed. Playing on Sundays is fine, but do not plan your whole week around a boost nobody has verified.

Do Teammates Get the Token?

Yes, according to every outlet that covered it. GameSpot says that if a player finds the Item Shop Token, all their teammates in that round get it too. Polygon says the entire team can plunder the Item Shop. GamesRadar says if one member of a duo, trio or squad finds it, everyone else in the group receives it. FRVR reports that this includes random teammates in Squad Fills.

A couple of caveats worth knowing:

  • It is not on the unlock text. FortniteTools points out that the team sharing rule is reported behavior from launch day recaps rather than a line on Epic's own unlock card. It has been consistent across outlets, but it is still reported behavior.
  • Sharing a chest win is not the same as transferring a token. Your teammate gets their own copy tied to their own account. You cannot hand yours to someone later.
  • Squads get more rolls. GameSpot's takeaway is that playing in a squad is the most beneficial. FRVR does the math the same way: more people opening chests means more chances for the team.
If you are in a party and your teammate's screen pops and yours does not, finish the match and check your lobby before assuming you were skipped. That tip is from FortniteTools, and it matches how the reward screen is described, which shows up after the match.

How to Check If You Have It

There is no hidden menu to hunt for. If you got it, the game tells you in two places.

  • During the match: the chest glows, shakes and then bursts, and a "YOU FOUND PIRATE SHOP ACCESS" banner appears, per GamesRadar and Polygon.
  • After the match: you get a reward screen titled Pirate Shop Access Unlocked, with two gold compass style tokens, per FortniteTools. GAMES.GG likewise says a reward screen after the match explains your access and the two tokens. FortniteTools says the button on that screen is Claim All, which grants the tokens, and that claiming and activating are two separate clicks.
  • In the lobby: Beebom says winners see a message in the lobby that they can use the token once in 2026 and once in 2027.
If you are unsure, open the Item Shop and look for the Plunder the Item Shop button, which several outlets place in the bottom right. The Click notes Epic has not published a troubleshooting flow for this reward, so if the panel is missing, the likeliest explanation is simply that your account did not win. The Click's guidance matches that: opening chests without winning does not create an activation.

How to Redeem Pirate Shop Access

Here is the redemption flow as Vice, Dot Esports and GAMES.GG describe it:

  • Return to the Fortnite lobby after the match where you earned it.
  • Open the Item Shop.
  • Select Plunder the Item Shop to see your Pirate Shop Access screen.
  • Choose Activate Now when you are ready to start your 14 days.
  • Visit the shop during your window and claim the offers you want. Eligible ones show as FREE.
The two details that matter most:
  • The 14 days start at activation. Dexerto's reporting from HYPEX says the timer only starts when you press activate. You can sit on an unused token until the right shop rotation, as long as you are inside the activation deadline.
  • You still have to claim each item. GAMES.GG warns that activating does not add every shop cosmetic to your account. Items that leave the shop before you claim them are gone from that window.
Nobody has reported a web redeem page, and FortniteTools says there is none. The token lives in the Fortnite client. If a website asks for your Epic login to "activate" it, close the tab.

Dates, Deadlines and the Two Tokens

One drop gives you two tokens. GamesRadar names them Pirate Shop Access (2026) and Pirate Shop Access (2027). The first needs to be activated by December 15, 2026, per GameSpot, and the second opens up next year.

WhatDateSource
Treasure Hunters season startNovember 1, 2026, 9 AM ET (8 AM CT)fortnite.com season post
2026 token activation deadlineDecember 15, 2026 (exact hour not published in what I found)GameSpot, Dexerto, GamesRadar, Dot Esports
2027 token activation windowJanuary 1 to December 15, 2027Dexerto, Dot Esports, FRVR (Epic MOTD text only says "once in 2027" per FortniteTools)
Length of each window14 days from the moment you press Activate NowGameSpot, Dexerto
Chapter 7 end eventSaturday, December 5fortnite.com season post
Reported "find" windowNovember 1 to December 5Destructoid and GameRant (a recap calendar, not an Epic statement)

There are three date points where sources do not line up, so here is how I read them:

  • December 15 versus December 5. Destructoid and GameRant describe a Pirate Shop window of November 1 to December 5, while GameSpot, Dexerto, Dot Esports and GamesRadar give December 15, 2026 as the activation deadline. These are two different things. December 5 is the Chapter 7 end event date on Epic's own season post, and The Click makes the same distinction: the event ending and the token activation expiry are not the same thing. If you already have the token, December 15 is the date that matters.
  • The exact hour. I found no source giving a time of day for the December 15 deadline. The Click says the exact cutoff should be checked on the in-game display. Do not leave it to the last evening.
  • The 2027 start. Dexerto and Dot Esports give January 1 to December 15, 2027. FortniteTools notes that the unlock text itself only says once in 2027, so the exact bounds come from recap coverage. Check your tooltip when the year turns.
If the client tooltip disagrees with any blog, including this one, the tooltip wins.
Legendary Fortnite outfit — Fortnite account

What "Almost Everything" Means

GameSpot's wording is that almost everything in the shop becomes free, and the list of exceptions is short. This is how the sources break it down:

Item or purchaseFree with Pirate Shop Access?What the sources say
Outfits, pickaxes, back blings, gliders, emotesYesAnything sold for V-Bucks in the Item Shop can be claimed during your active window (Dexerto, Polygon, GamesRadar)
Jam TracksYesThe first winner told Dexerto Jam Tracks are included. Polygon also lists jam tracks as claimable
SidekicksOne onlyYou can claim one Sidekick you do not already own. No extra copies and no second one (GameSpot, GamesRadar, Dexerto)
V-Bucks packsNoReal-money purchases are excluded (GameSpot)
Starter Packs, Quest Packs, cash bundlesNoReal-money offers are excluded. GameSpot says "some skin bundles" fall under this
Fortnite CrewNoPolygon lists Crew as a real-money exception
Battle Pass and Battle Pass levelsNoPass levels and pass rewards are excluded
Gifts for other playersNoGifting for free is not allowed, and the reward cannot be transferred

A few notes on the gray areas:

  • "Some bundles." GameSpot says "some skin bundles" are excluded. Polygon and others clarify the rule is about real-money offers. A bundle priced in V-Bucks appears to be fair game, since Polygon says the One Piece bundle can be claimed, but a bundle sold for cash is not. If a tile does not show as FREE, it is probably one of the excluded rows.
  • Sidekicks. GameSpot says you cannot claim more than one Sidekick. Dexerto, Vice and GamesRadar refine that to one free Sidekick you do not already own. Polygon's phrasing is that you can only claim Sidekicks once. These are close but not identical, so I would plan on exactly one.
  • Battle Pass. Excluded, including levels and rewards. Dot Esports says you cannot use the token to buy a Battle Pass at all.
  • Stuff you already own. Nothing is refunded. Owned rows stay owned, and the free claim only helps with what you are missing.
GameSpot also makes the point that the shop is huge. It says more than 100 songs are perpetually available at $5 each, with dozens of emotes, skins and other cosmetics cycling in daily. That is GameSpot's description of the shop, and its estimate is that a lucky winner could claim a haul that would have cost hundreds if not thousands of dollars over two weeks. I would treat that as a ballpark, since the real value depends on what is in the shop during your window. For how rotation and vaulting work in general, my Item Shop explainer covers it.

Jam Tracks, Festival, LEGO and Rocket Racing

This is a very common question and the honest answer is split:

  • Jam Tracks: yes. Dexerto says the first winner confirmed Jam Tracks are included in a follow up post. Polygon lists jam tracks among the claimable items, and Dot Esports lists Jam Tracks in its eligible items.
  • Festival items in the Item Shop: likely, if they are sold for V-Bucks there. FortniteTools says to confirm on the tile and not to assume the whole Festival catalog is in the Battle Royale shop that day. I could not find a source that tested every Festival offer.
  • LEGO and Rocket Racing items: unconfirmed. I did not find any source that tested items from these modes. If a LEGO or Rocket Racing cosmetic is sold as a V-Bucks offer in the regular Item Shop, the general rule suggests it should be claimable, but that is an inference, not something anyone has reported. Check for the FREE label before you plan around it.

Platform and Account Differences

I did not find any report of platform differences. The token is tied to your Epic account, per Dexerto's note that it cannot be transferred, and the sources describe the same Plunder the Item Shop flow without noting a console, PC or mobile split. That is not the same as Epic confirming parity. If you play on more than one platform, activate from the one where you can see your whole shop clearly, and check your tooltip for dates.

When to Press Activate Now

This is where you win or waste the reward, so it is worth a plan. The window is 14 days from the moment you press the button, and you can only claim what is in the shop during that stretch. Epic's season post gives these Item Shop arrival dates:

Shop date (from fortnite.com)What arrivesTime given
November 1Luffy, Nami and UsoppSeason launch
November 5A$AP Rocky7 PM ET (6 PM CT)
November 7Zoro, Sanji, Chopper SidekickTime not stated
November 12Lil Uzi VertTime not stated
November 13BuggyTime not stated
November 14Kasane Teto and Cap'n Hatsune MikuTime not stated

Those are Epic's own dates from the season post, and the schedule can still shift, so use them as a planning guide. Here is how I would think about it:

  • If you already have the token and the current shop has things you want, activating now is fine. Nothing says the first days of the window are special.
  • If you are holding out for a specific collab outfit, wait until it is actually in the shop for V-Bucks. The Click and GAMES.GG both stress that an item has to be in the shop during your window for you to claim it.
  • One Piece fans have a lot arriving between November 5 and November 14. A window that starts just before those dates would overlap with most of the announced characters. That is my read of Epic's schedule, not an Epic recommendation.
  • Do not wait for the last day. The December 15 deadline is for starting your 14 days, and nobody has published the cutoff hour.
  • Save the 2027 token. It is a separate window, so using both back to back is not how it is meant to work.

The GTA 6 Angle, as Reported

I am only passing along what GameSpot wrote here, and it is the outlet's analysis, not an Epic statement. Delaney's headline frames the promotion as Fortnite's plan to survive GTA 6, and his article says "this whole promo is clearly Epic's way of dealing with Rockstar's game." He refers to GTA 6 starting on November 19.

GameSpot also reports that Fortnite's battle royale modes were being played by about two million players during daytime US hours, roughly four times the average in October. He suggests the second token in 2027 is a way to extend the hype beyond the GTA 6 launch, and he says it is unclear how many players will win the prize.

I have no way to check Epic's intent, and the Fortnite Status reply I quoted earlier says nothing about GTA 6. The mechanics are the same whichever motive is behind them, so I am leaving the speculation to GameSpot.

Scams, Exploits and Account Safety

Anything this valuable attracts bad actors, and Dexerto and Beebom documented it within three days.

Dexerto reported players offering paid carries, selling AFK farming tools and listing a Fortnite account on eBay for $10,000 or best offer with an unused Pirate Shop Access. It points out the reward is tied to the account that finds it. Beebom reported the same wave and noted that third party tools can carry malware.

The practical rules:

  • Never pay for a "carry" or a "guaranteed" token. Epic's Fortnite Status reply called buying an account or using fake tools a scam in this context, and said the chest works like any other chest in Battle Royale.
  • Do not run AFK farming tools or token generators. Dexerto says Epic's Community Rules ban cheating and exploiting, and violations can lead to warnings, suspensions or permanent bans. Beebom warns that some tools could give remote access to your PC.
  • Skip the vault exploits. Dexerto described clips showing ways to trigger chests inside locked vaults without a key, using things like Explosive Cannon Balls, Luffy's Gum-Gum Fruit or Shockwave Grenades. It says Epic has not said whether it will patch these or act against the accounts promoting them. HYPEX, via FRVR, warned that using tools or teaming with cheaters to farm the token will get you banned. Using a vault the normal way, with a key, is the safe version.
  • Turn on two factor authentication. FortniteTools says Epic's unlock text points players at its 2FA page. A free shop is excellent phishing bait, so protect the account that holds your token.
  • Never type your Epic login into a website to activate. Activation happens in the game client.

Everything That Is Still Unconfirmed

This is the short list of things I could not verify and that you should treat accordingly:

  • The drop rate. Epic has not published it. The 1 in 700,000 and 1 in 2,000 figures are both unconfirmed estimates.
  • The exact hour of the December 15, 2026 deadline, and the exact bounds of the 2027 window beyond the January 1 to December 15 dates in recaps.
  • Whether chests keep awarding the token until December 5 or the end of the season. FRVR says it is set to stay in the pool all season, citing HYPEX. Epic has not said so in anything I found.
  • Whether Treasure Hours raise the token odds. Polygon says rumored, The Click says Epic has not said.
  • Whether LEGO Fortnite, Rocket Racing, Reload, OG or Creative play any part, either for finding the token or for claiming items.
  • Platform differences. None reported, none confirmed.
  • Whether the token comes back in future seasons. Dot Esports says that is not confirmed.
  • The reason behind the promotion. The GTA 6 link is GameSpot's analysis.
I will update this guide if Epic publishes a support article, a status post with real numbers, or a change to the rules.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get the Fortnite Item Shop Token?

You open or break chests in Battle Royale during the Treasure Hunters mini season and hope the Pirate Shop Access prize rolls. GameSpot says it can come from chests in any round of battle royale, in any team size, in Build or Zero Build, and in ranked or unranked. There is no guaranteed method, no special chest to look for and no confirmed best location. You get more rolls by opening more chests, and playing in a squad helps because teammates share a win.

Is the Fortnite Item Shop really free with the token?

Almost. Once you activate it, you can claim anything sold for V-Bucks in the Item Shop for free for 14 days, according to Dexerto and GameSpot. It excludes real-money offers, Battle Pass levels and rewards, gifting, and Sidekicks beyond one you do not already own. You must claim items during your window, and the shop still shows the normal price to anyone without the token.

Does Pirate Shop Access work for V-Bucks or Battle Pass levels?

No for both. V-Bucks packs are real-money purchases and are excluded, and the token does not give you V-Bucks. Battle Pass levels and Battle Pass rewards are also excluded. The token only turns eligible V-Bucks priced shop offers into free claims.

Do my teammates get the token if I find it?

Yes, according to GameSpot, Polygon and GamesRadar. Everyone on your team in that round gets it. FRVR says that includes random teammates in Squad Fills. This team sharing rule is reported behavior and is not on Epic's unlock text, so verify it on your own reward screen after the match.

How many tokens do I get?

Two. GamesRadar says you receive Pirate Shop Access (2026) and Pirate Shop Access (2027). Each gives you one 14 day window.

When does the token expire?

You must activate the 2026 token by December 15, 2026, per GameSpot and several other outlets. The 2027 token is for a window in 2027, reported as January 1 to December 15, 2027. Once you press Activate Now you have 14 days to claim. I could not find the exact hour of the December 15 cutoff, so do not wait for the final day.

How do I know if I have Pirate Shop Access?

During the match the chest glows and shakes and a "YOU FOUND PIRATE SHOP ACCESS" banner appears, per GamesRadar. After the match you get a reward screen, and in the lobby you can open the Item Shop and look for the Plunder the Item Shop button. If you do not see these, you did not get it.

What are the odds of finding it?

Epic has not published them. The Fortnite Status account said every player has an equal opportunity, which is a fairness statement and not a percentage. The 1 in 700,000 figure is a community estimate that Dexerto says Epic has not confirmed, and HYPEX says the real odds are not in the game files. One creator estimated about 1 in 2,000 chests, which is a personal estimate.

Do I keep the items I claim?

Yes. Polygon, Dexerto and Dot Esports all report that items claimed with the token stay in your locker permanently. The 14 days only limit when you can claim.

Are Jam Tracks, LEGO items and Rocket Racing items included?

Jam Tracks are reported as included, based on the first winner's follow up to Dexerto and the lists in Polygon and Dot Esports. LEGO and Rocket Racing items are unconfirmed because no source I found tested them.

Can I gift items or give the token to a friend?

No. Gifting for free is not allowed and the reward cannot be transferred to another account. Anyone offering to sell you a token or activate one for you is a risk to your account.

Does the token work in every mode?

Only Battle Royale and Zero Build are confirmed for finding it. GameSpot says team size, Build versus Zero Build and ranked versus unranked do not matter. Reload, OG, Festival, LEGO, Rocket Racing and Creative are not confirmed either way.

Is Fortnite doing this because of GTA 6?

That is GameSpot's reading. The article frames the promotion as Epic's response to GTA 6, which it says arrives on November 19. Epic has not said that in anything I found, so treat it as the outlet's analysis.

Sell rare Fortnite accounts for cash at AccountShark

Buy or sell Fortnite accounts?

Browse available Fortnite accounts from screened sellers.