Home AccountShark Blog: Gaming News & Guides WoW Dragonflight Overview: New Features, Systems, and More!

WoW Dragonflight Overview: New Features, Systems, and More!

by AccountShark LLC on October 19, 2022

What’s New In WoW Dragonflight?

There is just over a month until the release of the next World of Warcraft expansion, Dragonflight. Having that in mind, it has been a few months since the Beta version came out, so we had a lot of time to experience and test all the new changes and features this expansion will bring to the game. 

Some of the core features and selling points are a new class, dragon-riding, a whole talent system revamp, a mythic plus system change, a professions overhaul, and on top of that, we are getting a new raid and a set of eight new dungeons. Apart from those core features, we are getting a lot of less impactful, quality-of-life changes, some of those being: mob tagging removed, Resurrection sickness down from 10 minutes to one, a whole user interface revamp and so on. Let's take a look at each of these features and make a more detailed explanation of what exactly it is, but before that, we will do a quick overview of the available editions and what those bring.

Pre-Orders and Available Editions: 

- There are four editions players can buy: Base, Heroic, Epic, and Collector's edition.

  • Base edition price is $49.99 and is just an expansion plus the battle pet Drakks, which is exclusive to pre-orders of the game and won't be available again.
  • Heroic edition price is $69.99. Heroic edition includes everything as Base edition plus a level 60 character boost, another battle pet, and an exclusive flying mount.
  • Epic edition price is $89.99. Includes everything as the heroic, 30 days of game time, and Timewalker's Hearthstone toy. Also, two transmog pieces: a dragon-styled helmet and the Wings of Awakening, which is a dragon-styled cloak with five different color variants for each of the aspects.
  • Collector's edition is $129.99. Similar to previous expansion's collector's editions, we are getting an art book of Dragonflight, a five-pin collector's set of Dragonflight Sigils, and an Alexstrasza-themed mousepad.

Dragonflight Features & Quality of Life Changes:

Dracthyr Evoker - New Race and Class

- Evokers is a new Hero class that can only be Dracthyr, and Dracthyr can only be Evokers. This race/class combo starts at level 58, jumping right into the Dragonflight content after finishing their exclusive starting area, the Forbidden Reach. The starter zone tells the story of Dracthyr, who were in a deep sleep till now, as the isles resonate with magic once more. The concept of the starter zone is similar to DK/DH ones we had, starting only with a few spells and getting more as you progress through the zone.

Dracthyr can be either Alliance or Horde and you will be limited to one Dracthyr per realm. If we look at the previous Hero classes, we can expect Evoker to be available as soon as the pre-patch hits live servers.

Evokers are primarily mail users, but you will not see armor transmogs when they are in their Dracthyr form, but you will see them in their humanoid form called Visage. As for weapons, Evokers can equip One-Handed Swords, One-Handed Maces, One-Handed Axes, Daggers, Staves, and Fist weapons. They can also use offhands, but cant dual wield.

Evokers can be two specializations, either a healer or a ranged DPS:

  • Preservation: A healer role specialization that uses the power of Bronze and Green Dragonflight. The power of green Dragonflight allows them to heal their injured allies, while the power of bronze Dragonflight allows them to rewind damage or heal allies faster.
  • Devastation: A ranged DPS role specialization that uses the power Red and Blue Dragonflight. Devastation Evokers will use a variety of spells, including dragon breaths!

Evoker's unique and passive mechanic is Empowered Spells. An example of this is that you channel a deep inhaled breath, and then let out the breath with your breath attack. The longer you inhale, the more powerful the spell will be.

New System: Dragonriding

- Dragonriding is a unique flying system that will be available at the release. It IS NOT flying. Players will be able to pick four types of dragons available and train them. Those types are a Proto-Dragon, a Ptero-Dragon, a Wyvern, and a Drake. Each dragon type has to be leveled and mastered separately to increase their mastery over momentum, gravity, and fighting against exhaustion and the pull of the earth. Reaching max level will allow you to further explore dragonriding.

Talent System Revamp

- Coming with Dragonflight, we are going to get a full talent system to revamp that is going to let us pick a much wider set of options. 

Talent trees will be separated into two trees, one that represents class utility that spans across all your specializations, and the other one is a talent tree that represents your specialization. You will be able to save the builds you make, so it will be easy to swap between, for example, Single Target talents and AoE talents.

A very important thing to note is that this is not a time-gated system, and you will be getting a new point every time you level up.

HUD System Revamp

- For the first time in the history of the game, Blizzard decided to do a full revamp of the original WoW user interface. The new user interface will be customizable, and you will have options to save, edit and copy new elements. A few parts of the old user interface are removed, so we are getting a modern-styled interface with features like bigger health bars and maps, as well as the ability to move UI elements around without any add-ons.

New Raid and Dungeons

- Vault of the Incarnates is the first raid added in Dragonflight. 

Vault of the Incarnates contains eight bosses in total. After the first boss, you can choose between two wings, each having three bosses. 

One of the core changes is that raids will be locked to modified Group Loot. Personal loot will not be an option in raids anymore. Additional to this, all the item-level restrictions for trading items between raiders are completely removed.

- New leveling dungeons that are being added are Ruby Life Pools, Brackenhide Hollow, The Nokhud Offensive, and Uldaman: Legacy of Tyr.

Max-level dungeons are Algeth'ar Academy, The Azure Vault, Halls of Infusion, and Neltharus.


- Dragonflight Beta felt like a finished and ready expansion compared to BFA/Shadowlands Beta back in the day. Having that in mind, I am looking forward to playing it, considering that this is the first expansion in years where we won't have a "borrow-power" system, and felt like Blizzard listened to feedback since the start.

Expansion's official release date is November 28th!


Please note, comments must be approved before they are published